Agenda for 27 August 2014 Sully District Council Meeting
by Jeff Parnes
  1. The Sully District Council of Citizen Associations Land Use and Transportation Committee meeting will meet at 7:00 p.m. on 27 August 2014 in the Sully District Governmental Center Front Meeting Room, 4900 Stonecroft Boulevard, Chantilly, VA, 20151. The meeting will be canceled if Fairfax County Schools or after school activities are canceled due to adverse weather the day of the meeting.

  2. Time to renew your association's membership in the Sully District Council. Our membership application can now be submitted on line! Please complete it, and for the remainder of the year, there is no cost to become a SDC member!

    Has yours made plans to join us in 2014?

  3. The July 2014 Sully District Council meeting minutes are posted online.

  4. Sully District Council Tweets!

  5. Land Use and Transportation Committee:
    1. 7:00 - New 130 foot lattice tower at NOVEC - Johnston Substation (SEA90-S-021)
      • Proponent: Frank Sterns, Donahue & Stearns, PLC, for Verizon Wireless and Milestone Communications
      • Action: Proposed is a new 130 foot lattice tower requiring the amendment of NOVEC's Special Exception and VA. Code 15.2-2232 approval
      • Location: 15001 Lee Highway, Tax Map 64-2-003-26A, NOVEC substation consisting of 2.7 acres zoned R-C & WSPOD
        At our October 2013 meeting the Council was briefed on the application on Verizon Wireless and Milestone Communications behalf for the NOVEC substation 15001 Lee Highway Centreville, Va.20121 for a 130-foot Lattice Tower with a 60ft x 60ft compound for equipment at the base.
        See the attached filing for more information as part of the filing for Staff review with a hearing date of 1 October 2014.

  6. Old Business

  7. New Business

  8. Items of General Interest:

  9. Scheduled Meetings/Activities:

  10. Next Membership Meeting - Monday 22 September 2014 (Note change of Date - 4th Monday of September due to Conflict with Rosh Hashanah - Jewish New Year):

    • Membership Topic: Congressional Candidates Night Jointly Sponsored with the League of Women Voters (LWV) of the Fairfax Area, AARP, VA and Coalition of Asian Pacific Americans of Virginia (CAPAVA):
      • 10th District
        • Dianne Blais (IG)
        • Barbara Comstock (R)
        • Brad A. Eickholt (I)
        • John Foust (D)
        • William Redpath (L)
      • 11th District
        • Gerry Connolly (D)
        • Joe Galdo (G)
        • Marc Harrold (L)
        • Suzanne Scholte (R)

Respectfully submitted,

Jeffrey M. Parnes
First Vice President
Sully District Council

Sully District Council Home Page

Sully District Council Minutes

Land Use & Transportation Committee Minutes

Data Area Transportation Association information

©SDC;      webmaster2014 @

modified by Jeffrey M. Parnes